Never take anything for granted!!!


Have you ever noticed how we just go about our lives everyday doing the same thing, being around the same people.   We get up do our thing and we go to bed.

 

Seven years ago this week, everything I took for granted suddenly changed.    My DH had been healthy all our married life……but in 2001, he just didn’t feel good.    It wasn’t something we could put our finger on,  he just didn’t feel good.   So after several months of this he finally goes to the doctor.   It turned out his heart wasn’t working properly…….he needed a valve repair…..something he inherited from his father.

 

So we went off for the surgery to fix his problem…..the doctors were very good and reassured us this is routine surgery.     But things went wrong………most of the surgery went like it was supposed to….but time to come off the bypass machine……his heart wouldn’t beat.   And the doctors didn’t have any reason why!!!!

Since I’m a quilter, I have gizmo’s to make my quilting life easier.     Well doctors also have gizmo’s to make there job easier.   So our surgeon Dr Roxanne Newman, she is the queen of gizmo’s for doctors………..she has available to her a machine that will do the beating for your heart,  a Bi-VAD machine.     So my DH was put on this machine, it doing the beating for his heart.    He was on this machine a total of 4 days, and the doctors kept running tests watching and waiting hoping his heart would beat on its own.

So it came time for DH to be taken off this machine……….this is a tempory machine….you can’t be on it longterm.    They weren’t sure if his heart was going to function on its own, they were confident, but not positive.     So they had me sign the appropiate papers……..part of that pack of papers that husbands and wives sign for each other……….”the Living Will”………….you know the one, where if you are unable to make your own medical decisions, you appoint someone else to carry out your directives.    So I signed the papers to let my husband go in the event that his heart wouldn’t beat.    That was the toughest thing to sign………..I was deciding my husbands fate!!!!         We were so lucky that day……..my DH’s heart started beating on its own after the machine was removed.  All my prayers had been answered.  

By this time, I was so tired, five days without sleep has a tendancy to do that to you.  It would be 24 hours before I’d be able to see him and talk to him, so I went back to where we were staying and I slept.     I think often about that time and I’m so thankful that things turned out for us.    Both my DH and I now take nothing for granted,  we thank God everyday for our lives together.   We understand how life can change in a heartbeat.        I’m so blessed.

 

Karen

This entry was posted in family, longarm, machine quilting, quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never take anything for granted!!!

  1. rondabeyer says:

    What a beautiful family you have, blessed indeed….. I no longer take anything for granted, life can change so quickly and not always for the best…. Bless you and your family

  2. sandi a. says:

    What a touching story. Thank you so much for sharing. My dad had problems and my younger brother inherited the same type of problems. Life can change in an instant. Glad it has all worked well for you and your family.

  3. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

