Another finish……………well the top is done!!!


 

P1130172 

Last night after the troops settled down………….I parked myself at my sewing machine and put the borders on my current UFO….now its ready for my machine quilter………I hope my stuff gets to the top of the list soon.     After that was completed I started going thru some more of my stuff…………I’m still on a mission.   

 

I came upon these three tubsP1140175…………. they are strips all cut 1.75 inches wide.   When I feel up to it I make log cabin blocks and when I get enough blocks I sew them into a quilt.     I’m thinking of moving these strips to my main floor living room………where this machine isP1150018………..a cute treadle machine I acquired a few years back.  I figure I can take a few minutes to sew here and there while I’m making dinner or lunch or waiting for someone……Plus I would get exercise to boot….those calf muscles of mine need abit of work.      This would be a way I could get something done while doing something else.     I’ll have to be careful, cause I have a tendency to burn things when I cooking….but DH should be used to that my now.

 

You know,  its not like I have to make anymore quilts……..I have plenty already………I actually have some completed quilts………..some UFO’s……….and a bunch that are waiting there turn to be quilted…..P1140174 I have 5 cubbies full of tops in waiting……….my machine quilter needs to get her act together….she is trying hard!!!

 

How cold can it go!!!!

Currently our temperature is    -30………that is 30 degrees below zero!!!!    Factor in the windchill and its -54 degrees.   It’s not fit for man or beast to be outside.     Just so you can get an idea of what these kind of temperatures are like.    We have ice in our freezer………basically frozen water……… if you put a glass of water in your freezer and come back an hour later……you will have some ice around the top and on the sides……..it would take all night in the freezer for the glass of water to freeze solid.        If I was to set a glass of water outside tonight…….it would take about 45 minutes to freeze solid…..now that’s cold!!!!       Something else that is fun to do when its this cold…..you take a cup of hot water outside………..and toss the water in the air……….before the droplets hit the ground….they are frozen, that few seconds is all it takes to freeze the water!!!!    When its this cold out………you don’t spend any extra time outside….exposed skin would freeze in less than 5 minutes….just walking from your car to the grocery store can be an eye opening experience.     Yup, you have to be mighty tough to live in the Northern climates!!!!

 

 

later…………..

Technorati Tags: ,,
This entry was posted in fabric bust, family, longarm, machine quilting, quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another finish……………well the top is done!!!

  1. Howdy says:

    That top is very pretty – love the colors! Can’t wait to see it quilted.

    I guess we must seem perfectly balmy here with our temps in the low 20’s…

    The picture of your treadle makes me miss using mine all that much more… I have the same cabinet too. I miss using my 15 class machine – they sew beautifully and I especially love using mine for free motion quilting… just a lovely lovely stitch.

    Although it’s noble to think you can sit and stitch for 10 minutes here or there… there is something hypnotic about a treadle… expect burnt dinners… LOL

    Howdy……I can burn dinner even when I’m standing there watching it….I don’t have that cooking gene like the rest of my family. I love sewing on this thing…..maybe it the sound of no motor running. The cabinet on mine is from the late 1890’s, although the machine is from the 20’s, which was common back then to wear out a machine and just buy the new machine that fit in the same cabinet. Karen

  2. Karen says:

    where do you live in the north – that is mighty cold!!!! I have lived in the north numerous times years ago – I grew up in Wisconsin, and have lived in Idaho as well, but now Arkansas is cold enough in the winter for me. I have bookmarked your blog and will check in with you time to time.
    Karen
    http://karensquilting.com/blog/

    I live in the Red River Valley, basicly where ND, SD and MN all meet…….it seems like it always coldest here then anywhere else in the states….I think its all the flat land around us that makes it colder…I mean really flat, you can see for miles flat!! Karen

Leave a Reply

