what I can and can’t do!!!


Being laid up with bruised ribs, my doctor wants me to do nothing for about 2 weeks until I heal……I’m not one to sit around and do nothing.    So today after I got out of bed, which was a major feat in itself….I tested the waters.

 

These are the things you can do with a banged up body.

 

1) dust the do-dads…….last time I dusted was right before Christmas, so I guess it was due.    Now with all the dust gone I looked at the windows but decided that was not the thing to do.

 

2) fold and press fat quarters………I had abit of a mess in my stash so now its all nice and organized…..only until I start the next project.

 

3) Vacuum………………..very very very slowly and with very short strokes……..did I say very very very slow.

 

4)    Put little things away………you know all those things laying around that do have a place but they are never in the place where they are supposed to be……….well today they are.

 

 

These are the things you can’t do.

 

1) Laundry………loading, folding………I tried just to painful,  its always mentally painful but today it was physical.

 

2)   Carry things up the steps.

 

3) empty the dishwasher……it hurts to bend over.

 

4)   Pick things up off the floor…….see #3………but you can sorta push everything into a pile with your foot so at least the dirty clothes laying around are now in one pile instead of being spread all over the floor…………I should have a discussion with #2 needle as these were his clothes and we do have hampers in the house that could be used.

 

5)     It was tough to get dinner in the oven……..most casserole dishes, you need two hands…..since I only have use of one hand it made it tough………I did manage with only a couple of winces.

 

6)   Tie your shoes………it requires you to bend over……..so I found a pair of slip ons for the day.

 

7)      Laugh………………please don’t tell me any jokes, the laughing is just to painful…along with coughing…..and thank God I didn’t have to sneeze. or have the hicups today/

 

 

Some things I just didn’t try cause I knew it wouldn’t work………like my quilting machine, I lead with my left and that’s the side I fell on…………I didn’t make the bed,   I always make my bed……….

 

 

Interesting things in the yard.

P4240323

 

I have nice green grass and those little white blips……..Yup…. SNOW….at this time of year that is a very nasty 4 letter word……the moods are abit on the short side anyway cause we would like to be farming……so seeing the snow today just made the moods abit shorter……….and you can still see the lake front property in the background………some day the water will be gone…….not to soon for me……I’m so tired of taking the long way into town.

 

 

 

 

P4240319

 

That’s a female wild turkey………we have alot of them around here……  Mr Needle has a license for second week in May and for a male……..this little gal is probably looking for a place to nest…….she better look elsewhere cause I don’t want them in the yard.   We have acres and acres out back for her nest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to try to find something to do………its to early to go to bed……and once I lay down I won’t be getting up again until morning……maybe I’ll get better faster than the doctor says…..I guess I can dream.

 

 

later…………Mrs Needle

43 Things Tags: ,,
This entry was posted in family, snow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to what I can and can’t do!!!

  1. Jan says:

    As someone recovering from broken ribs….. I completely understand……. hulu.com, snagfilms.com, and various online quilting videos have kept me some what sane… well…. you know….. the bar was set low there to begin with. Once you get back, go slow. I over did it big time Thursday night and I’m now recliner resting again…… On the positive side… my family has had to pick up the slack and really appreciate me more now 😉

    Jan, I’m sorry about your ribs……..I hope they heal fast. I’m still trying to do things, taking it easy…sewed for awhile today. I’m not so lucky in the family department, the most I got from the DH was one load of laundry eventhough there were 3 piles there and my daughter did carry the vacumm up the steps for me, she didn’t bother using it when it reached the top. I’m hoping to be back to normal in a couple of weeks. Karen

  2. Jackie says:

    Isn’t it amazing how important things like dusting and windows become when you’re laid up and bed and told you can’t do anything?

    When I was pregnant and on bed rest, I HAD to have clean baseboards. Had to! Haven’t had them bother me since (though they have been cleaned)….go figure!

    Jackie…….I think we can see the dust cause we are sitting still…..if we keep moving all day we don’t see the dust. Take a look at your ceiling fan when its turned on…..you don’t see any dust……..shut the baby off and it looks horrible……..needless to say I don’t shut off my ceiling fans. Karen

  3. Karen says:

    hope you get to moving around better soon and I bet you are sure glad you don’t have a cracked or broken rib.
    Karen
    http://karensquilting.com/blog/

    Karen, I was so glad when the doctor said just bruised….I have to take it easy this week and then I should be able to start back on normal things. Karen

Leave a Reply

