Stashbusting and life!!!


It’s been awhile since I’ve been here…….let’s just say, most of the time I have a full plate……but the last few weeks I feel like I’m at the whole buffet.      I am seeing a light at the end of the tunnel……..a very long tunnel……but life will be normal again.

 

This week my daughter moves into her apartment in her new town….she’s been living with friends for the last 6 weeks…..so she is glad to have her own place.   Her job is going good and she’s ready for college to start in the fall again.    It’s been very different not having her here at our home……….the balance of power has shifted here………….way to much testerone and not enough estrogen if you know what I mean.

 

After I get my daughter settled this week……….then my Dad’s turn comes to move.   He’s 80 and we need to get him off the farm and into town……….he’s ready to be in town cause he knows it will be easier for us to take care of him there.      He’s lived within 2 square miles all his life, so it will be different for him.     My sister and I was out to the farm yesterday cleaning out cupboards and generally deciding what stuff Dad was going to keep and what we wanted.   Dad didn’t want any of the good dishes………Mom and Dad had a great china pattern……recieved as wedding presents 57 years ago.    My older sister thought we should just throw it away as no one uses china anymore……..my younger sister didn’t want it either………I consider myself very lucky…..I now own the china…….I feel very honored!!!!     It was that way with most of the dishes………they didn’t want them………so now I have them.

 

The other great find……….Mom’s recipe collection……….all the while I was growing up my Mom never owned a cookbook…………everything was kept either on a recipe card or in a steno book…………….all those great recipes I thought were gone forever, I now have.    First up on the list to make………….Dream Bars………..they are the best and they tasted just as I remember them…….anybody want to try one…….when life settles down abit I plan on posting a few recipies of my childhood favorites.       The next recipe up for next weekend……..Applesauce Spice cake with brown sugar frosting………….that frosting was so good.     It’s not a recipe for the faint of heart….it requires a double boiler and the soft ball stage along with alot of hand stirring.    I look forward to the challenge.     Do any of you have those comfort recipies from your childhood????

 

On to the stashbusting…………..NOTHING USED, NOTHING PURCHASED.     I did go into a quit shop last week for a couple of pickups……….all I walked out with was a book.   It felt kinda strange walking out without any fabric as I don’t think I’ve done that before……..but someday I will have the time to sew again.     So I’m still at 9.8 net yards used for the year.

 

With my daughter moving……….since she can’t live without any furniture…….we have purchased a few items for her home.     She is actually a very good shopper, looking for good deals….but she also looks for quality.    So far we have purchased a sofa, chair and ottaman……she even went neutral on it……I was expecting something more funky as that’s her taste……..but I’m very happy with her choices.      And a new bed was purchased and she will need a table and chairs……..the rest she is taking from home………I don’t have much extra furniture………everything we have we use, so she couldn’t  rob very much from Mom’s house.   I look forward to seeing how she decorates……..I bet in the long run I’ll like what she does.

 

Seeing as its late again,  I better sign off……..until next time.

 

the mama

This entry was posted in family, general, traditions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stashbusting and life!!!

  1. Sue H says:

    mmmmm, is that spice cake the one with the brown-sugar frosting that you put under the broiler? If so, my mom used to make that many years ago. Wow, you’ve been a busy lady. What huge life events are going on for you right now! Hope everything continues to go well for you.

    • goldenneedle says:

      Sue, Its sorta like the burnt sugar frosting. On this one you cook the sugar and water to soft boil stage in a double boiler. Then the hot syrup is poured over a beaten egg white…….and then stirred and stirred and stirred…..very time consuming but worth the effort. Everything is just sorta happening all at once…..but life will be back to normal soon. Karen

  2. Jan says:

    Older china & lost recipes!!!!! Awesome!!!!!!!! Isn’t it nice when you get that unexpected reward for something you do because it’s the right thing to do. Hope that light is getting closer by the moment!!

    • goldenneedle says:

      I felt like a kid in a candy store……….the part that I don’t get is the others didn’t want anything….I just couldn’t believe it. The recipes I’m going to share, eventually when I have time to get them in cookbook form. I’ve decided to have Christmas here this year and we are going to use the dishes they thought were just junk……it will be an extra special Christmas. Karen

Leave a Reply

