Mama’s recipe box


 

My Mother passed away 12 years ago.    Just recently we have finally went thru her things.    Dad was ready for us to do that.    Baking has always been apart of my life and I was the lucky daughter  that got all my mom’s recipe books.     My mother never owned a cookbook, everything has hand written on cards or in steno books.     And now they are mine,  all the recipes we grew up with as a child.  All in Mom’s handwriting.    Brings back a flood of memories of my childhood.

P7230008

 

We always had dessert growing up, not every night, but most nights.     These desserts we nothing elaborate, usually fruit was dessert, pudding, jello were often used options.   Bars, cookies and cakes were there usually once a week.   So now I’m baking my way thru Mom’s recipe box (does this sound like the theme of a movie) starting with the bars.    I’m sure most of these recipes can now be found on the internet is some form as they were basic.

For tonight’s dessert, we are havingP7230006

 

Dream Bars

 

These are a lovely creation of coconut, pecans that almost taste like pecan pie only much better.

 

Come bake these lovely creations with me.

 

Let’s start with the crust.    Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

We’ll take:        1 cup all purpose flour

                        1/2 cup brown sugar

                        1/2 cup butter, softened slightly (1/2 hour )

Mix all these together with a pastry blender until they are combined.   We want to have the butter on the cooler side as it will make everything crumble together nicely.     It will look like this.

 

Spread this into the bottom of a 9 x 13 cake/bar pan, press with the back of a turner to even out mixture.    Bake for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven.    Do not apply any cooking spray or oil to bottom of pan as it’s not necessary with butter in the mix.

P7230004

Mix together the following, this will be the topping and will be baked longer.

      1  cup brown sugar

         2  Tablespoons flour

      1/2 teaspoon baking powder

      1/4 teaspoon salt

       2 eggs

Add:    1 cup pecans, chopped

           1  1/2 cups coconut

           1 teaspoon vanilla

Pour this mixture on top of the crust, spread out evenly.

 

Bake for 20 minutes longer.

P7230007

 

enjoy.

 

Until next time,   

Technorati Tags:

This entry was posted in recipe box. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mama’s recipe box

  1. lynn says:

    This is such a sweet idea, to bake your way through your mom’s recipe box. I have inherited a whole bunch of my grandma’s recipes, many of them written out in her hand, and have been wanting to do what you’re doing.

    • goldenneedle says:

      Lynn, I have along way to go to make it thru Mom’s recipe files but I’ll keep at it. Thank you for the comment….I visited your blog and I even pulled last nights supper for there. Karen

  2. lynn says:

    Well I made my first recipe from the stack given to me by my grandma, and it was a great success! Now I’m inspired to keep going and make more. I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve posted about it and linked to you here. Thanks again for the great idea. I’m excited to keep trying more. (And I’m glad you came by my blog and found some recipes to try there. Isn’t it fun, trying out everyone’s dishes?)

    • goldenneedle says:

      Lynn……Thanks for the link…….and yes it’s fun to see what others do in there cooking and baking……I have found the internet to be such an inspiration all the photos of are actual final product with no touch ups……I don’t get that from a written cookbook with there perfect photos.

      Karen

Leave a Reply

