Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce


When searching thru my mother’s old recipe box, this was one of our favorite during apple season. 

PA030050

PA030051

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apple Cake

2 cups apples peeled and chopped

1 egg

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup pecans, chopped (optional)

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Mix apples with egg and vegetable oil.   Add the dry ingredients and blend well.   Batter will be stiff.    Place in a 9 inch pie plate sprayed with non-stick spray.   Bake in 350 preheated oven for about 40-45 minutes until toothpick inserted comes out clean.        This recipe can be doubled and put in a 9 by 13 can pan.

Caramel Sauce.

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup cream

1 Tablespoon flour

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix flour and white sugar, add brown sugar, butter and cream into a saucepan.   Boil for 1 1/2 minutes.    Remove from heat and add vanilla.     

To serve:      Place the cake on a plate and drizzle caramel sauce (can warm in microwave) over the top.    If you want you can also serve with a dallop of whipped cream.

enjoy,       Karen

43 Things Tags:
This entry was posted in recipe box. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

  1. bettyp says:

    I hope it was okay , I copyed and paste this recipe for myself .
    It looks like something my family would enjoy. Thanks
    bp

  2. goldenneedle says:

    Betty…..That’s fine to grab any recipe I post here. All the recipes (and those coming) are from my Mother’s recipe box and since I have no desire to write a cookbook anyone can use them.

    Karen

  3. Mary says:

    Yum. I am making this tonight.

  4. Jan says:

    Looks wonderful!!! And no pie crust making is always a bonus in my book!! Thanks Karen!!

  5. Anne says:

    This comment is not directly related to your post, although the recipe looks really yummy… I accidentaly came across your name in a comment you made on another blog I came across at the APQS chat, and I jumped in my chair when I read your name: It is the same as my mother’s… and she was Norwegian. It is not a very common name back here. I hope I am not rude to ask: Are you of Norwegian heritage?
    Of course I have read my way through your blog – I really enjoyed it!
    Kind regards,
    Anne Langseth Rønningen from Norway

    • goldenneedle says:

      Anne……I myself am not Norweigen….but my husband is…..Langseth isn’t a real common name…but if you are related to my DH…..then you know about “grandpa with the whiskers”…..if you know about him you are related to my DH!!! Let me know

      Karen

      • Anne says:

        I don’t know about “grandpa with the whiskers”. So then I guess we are not directly related. The Langseth name is found in a few different areas in Norway, North of the capital Oslo, and in the countryside not far from the mid country city Trondheim (which my family comes from).
        Anne

Leave a Reply

