Design Wall Monday


This is a first doing design wall Monday for me….usually Mondays don’t work for me.    I posted this  picture  last week…..even though in the original pattern this was all there was to the quilt…I thought it just looks like its asking for more.5     So yesterday I added a couple more rows to complete the squares around the outside….I think it looks much better.  I couldn’t get a picture of the whole thing as I was to lazy to hang it up again.     So what do you think I should add for more borders????   What I’m thinking is another cream narrow border and something else….I’m just not sure what.

later…Mrs. going to finish this quilt.

43 Things Tags:
This entry was posted in design wall. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Design Wall Monday

  1. Liz says:

    Very pretty and I like the addition of the rows to complete the pattern. I agee with the cream border and your problem with additional borders. Do you have a quilting program that you can load the design in and then play with border options?

    I got the “impression” of a knot garden, so would you want to soften the angles of the design with an applique border of vines and leaves? Or just continue the 9 patch as an outside border.

    Good luck!

    Liz

    • goldenneedle says:

      Liz….I was thinking applique so I might try that. I don’t oven a quilting program…depending upon how this year goes I might have to invest in EQ. Karen

  2. Darlene S says:

    WOW, how small are those squares in the 4-patches? They look tiny. Very nice quilt. I like Liz’s idea about an applique border to soften the quilt. Something light and airy. Darlene

    • goldenneedle says:

      Darlene…..the squares finish to 1.25 inches….I won’t work with anything smaller unless all the planets are aligned. Karen

  3. Wow, I love it! The colors are so pretty and the little squares are great! I wonder how a pieced border would look? I love applique, but I’m not so great at it. 😉

  4. Sharie - Moss Bluff says:

    I love this quilt. I saw one similiar to it someplace. I don’t recall. I think I would add a 2″ cream border, a nine-patch border, and then a wider cream border and a cream binding. Just a thought.
    It looks super just the way it is, just add a cream binding. It is going to be a beautiful quilt.

  5. Kathy Wagner says:

    Lovely…that’s a lot of little squares to organize but it was worth the effort!
    The border could just be 9 patch squares all around.

  6. Kare in OH says:

    The cream border will appear to make the center of the quilt float, which I think will look great. I love the idea of applique, but personally, I really dislike doing it – – how about you?

  7. WOW! I Love this!!! How big is what you have now? Did you use the same background throughout? As far as borders, how big do you want it to be?
    Nice job, I’ll be watching to see how you finish it.

  8. Diane says:

    Wow, I love this! I am not sure what I would suggest for a border. I can see where applique might look nice, but the balance would be hard for me. A pieced border might be in order repeating a portion of the center. But after looking at it for a while I would probably not do a border at all, just let the binding be the end of the design. Just my thoughts.

  9. lynn says:

    This is absolutely lovely! What a work of art. I love all the colors. I’d maybe add a narrow maroon-colored border, then a slightly wider one of cream. Lovely, lovely.

  10. goldenneedle says:

    Thank you all for the complements and suggestions. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this quilt yet….I may give it away or I may keep it. It would make a great summer quilt for my bed and then I will need it bigger…..its currently about 80 by 80. I’m going to leave it as is for a bit until I decide what I’m going to do with it.

    Karen

  11. Heather says:

    Your quilt is beautiful. I can only wish that I had the talent to deal with al those little pieces. Maybe someday. Not in my 2010 goals though.

    Heather

Leave a Reply

