Stash Report—Jan2010


This week was a good week…..kept on track with quilting client quilts……even did one of my own that is going to be donated in Feb…finished binding the wholecloth……This week I’m going to set up the photo stand in my DD’s bedroom and take some long overdue pictures.

Used this week                        4.75 yards for a backing

Used YTD                                18.50 yards.

Do you take stashbusing serious????       I do….last year was my first year actually keeping track of what I was using and purchasing……its amazing how all those pesky little 2 yard purchases soon add up to a major amount….Now I’m not going to say that I won’t ever buy fabric but now in my second year, I’ve gotten used to shopping the stash first.   Now I just have to find some ways to get creative with backings as I’m down to 2 large pieces left…so either I have to get creative or go shopping……since I live in MN and we all know how cold and miserable shopping can be in Jan and Feb,  I guess I’ll have to get creative with my backings.

I’ve been thinking about offering tutorials on getting creative with backings…..and of course some stuff in how to figure how much fabric you need for that back.    This will be an ongoing project and the backings will be created as I need them.     Anyone up for burning that stash with Creative Backings???

 

My Son the Photographer

  

Last night I was playing around with my camera……the camera I got from my daughter when she wanted a new one…..anyway, I’m been taking pictures of my flower that is blooming…..last night I tried to get some decent pictures and I just couldn’t get the camera to cooperate no matter what setting I chose,  the pictures all turned out the same…..so while I was sitting around whinning about this camera that won’t do what I want it to do…my son walks up, turns it on and snaps a picture…..P1230158 this is what I was trying to do and he just comes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

up takes the picture and says look mom what I did…….don’t you just hate it when they do that.

Part of my bucket list for this year is to get a good camera …..I’ve been saving for a year, I gave up food and water……no I actually gave up manicures, pedicures and hair coloring and have saved the $$ I need to buy a decent camera and I might even spring for Photoshop to boot.    I won’t be taking any self portraits now that I look a mess but I might good some good flower shots.

later……….Mrs. I’m all out of big pieces of fabric.

43 Things Tags:
This entry was posted in stash. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stash Report—Jan2010

  1. Eileen says:

    good job on your stash busting this week. I love shopping my stash first. I have pieced lots of backing and it’s a great way to use up that stash. If you have time go back thru some of my older posts and maybe see some ideas for backings.

  2. Lori in SD says:

    ROFL–no portraits but the flowers will look good!! Congratulations on saving for something you REALLY wanted!

Leave a Reply

